ZAR data recovery forum This forum is the official point of contact for technical questions related to Zero Assumption Software products. Ordering-related questions should be directed here. The forum is monitored 13:00 - 20:00 GMT on working days. Current time is 17:19 GMT, Wednesday.
 

Go Back   ZAR data recovery forum > Data recovery & support > ZAR
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

ZAR ZAR-related questions. Digital image recovery; General data recovery (filesystems and RAIDs).

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd March 2012
randombob randombob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

Hiya,

I have a WD30ezrs drive I need to recover 2.1TB of data from, does your software support drives of this size?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24th March 2012
Alexey V. Gubin Alexey V. Gubin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,974
Send a message via MSN to Alexey V. Gubin
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

You should use the demo version to see if the size is correctly displayed. In our tests it works, but we sometimes get reports of incompatibilities with 3TB drives.
__________________
Best regards,
Alexey
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th April 2012
randombob randombob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

After about 70+ hours it was at 80% then when I came back Zar had closed on its own. No error messages or anything, it had not restarted due to windows updates or anythign like that as all my other programs were still open.

Any ideas why it closed?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th April 2012
Alexey V. Gubin Alexey V. Gubin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,974
Send a message via MSN to Alexey V. Gubin
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

Run out of memory? This can happen if you have many files on the volume. We did test, and the limit is about 20+ millions on x64. Are you using x64 Windows?
__________________
Best regards,
Alexey
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th April 2012
randombob randombob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

Yes its Windows 7 x64.

Would that just exit the program witout throwing up an error?

The hard drive was used to store avi files, average size around 500MB so I would guess there are only around 4000- 5000 files on there, certainly no more than 10000.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th April 2012
Alexey V. Gubin Alexey V. Gubin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,974
Send a message via MSN to Alexey V. Gubin
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

Supposed to be throwing the error. Power transient? if the drive is on USB, the PC on UPS, but the drive is not?
__________________
Best regards,
Alexey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th April 2012
randombob randombob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 4
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

The hard drive was connected via an internal sata port to the PC which is not connected to a UPS.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th April 2012
Alexey V. Gubin Alexey V. Gubin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,974
Send a message via MSN to Alexey V. Gubin
Default Re: Does ZAR support 3TB drives?

There is nothing else I can think of. I suppose the net result is that ZAR is not suitable in your case. Sorry for wasting about a week of your time, but really not much I can do.
__________________
Best regards,
Alexey
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Western Digital 1TB drives now showing up as 32MB Todd Huttenstine ZAR 3 19th June 2009 12:10
ZAR 8.0 è ZAR 8.3 martin1138 ZAR 1 17th February 2009 11:06
Using ZAR for NAS device? sporgo ZAR 2 10th December 2008 15:02
Does ZAR support recovery from Lacie Merlin ZAR 4 27th June 2008 09:06
Support for mounted drives? gvhgvh ZAR 3 26th January 2008 09:54


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) Zero Assumption Software